Historical Fiction and Historical Romance

The Spirited Mrs. Pringle by Jillianne Hamilton

The Hobby Shop on Barnaby Street

A Homefront Hearts Novel

— NEW RELEASE —

A forbidden wartime romance begins just as German planes fill the skies over London in 1940. A playful and heartfelt read perfect for fans of Dear. Mrs. Bird, The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir, and The Last Bookshop in London.

When Maisie Beckett arrives to work at her brother’s hobby shop while he’s serving in the war, she soon discovers it’s in financial ruin. She also finds London preparing for an impending Nazi invasion. Determined to keep the shop open and prove herself to her parents, Maisie moonlights as a pinup photographer to pad the shop’s till while the shop’s co-owner, Cal Woodbury, isn’t looking. Despite his secrecy about why he didn’t enlist, Maisie is drawn to Cal and enticed by his wit and shy smile.

Cal promised his best friend and business partner, Roy, he wouldn’t become romantically involved with Maisie, Roy’s sweet and beautiful sister. As German bombs fall on London every night and Cal’s bond with Maisie grows deeper, he learns some promises are impossible to keep. However, when Roy deserts the Navy and appears at Cal’s door, Cal is caught between his best friend and the woman he is falling for.

While London goes to war around them, Maisie and Cal face their own fight—finding their courage and recognizing their worth.

The Spirited Mrs. Pringle by Jillianne Hamilton

The Spirited Mrs. Pringle

LONDON, 1888

Upon the death of her husband, self-involved social climber Cora Pringle assumes her recent dalliance with a wealthy gentleman will be her second chance at a happily ever after. That is until her paramour turns out to be a penniless imposter. Despite his betrayal, Cora can’t quite let go of the tug the handsome playwright has on her heart.

Desperate for an income, Cora becomes a séance-performing spiritualist and gets a taste for celebrity—and it’s so delicious. So what if she can’t actually communicate with the dead? Her eager patrons don’t need to know that.

Amelia Baxter, an ambitious journalist and suffragist, is discouraged when her editor refuses to let her cover the horrific Jack the Ripper murders. Instead, Amelia pours her frustrations into bringing Cora’s deceptive and manipulative act to an end, even if it means risking her family’s reputation.

Barnes and Noble Nook
iBooks - Apple Books
Amazon Kindle
Kobo
Audible
Scribd
Barnes and Noble Nook
Amazon Kindle
iBooks - Apple Books
Kobo
Kobo
Google Play

sign up for updates

Get occasional emails from me when I have bookish news to share.

Don't forget to confirm your address via the email you will get upon registering.

.